Home / Global / Asia / 12 nations sign historic TPP deal amid protest

12 nations sign historic TPP deal amid protest

The countries include the US, Canada, Mexico, Chile, Peru in the Americas, as well as Japan, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Brunei, Australia, New Zealand in the Asia Pacific.

The TPP is a deal between the United States of America and East Asian countries, similar to other “new generation” trade deals including TTIP (the EU-US Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership) and CETA (the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement).

The trade ministers held a morning meeting at the Skycity Convention Centre, followed by a cultural performance before the signing ceremony, according to The Star Online.

China is now involved in 14 free trade agreements with 22 countries, including Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Switzerland and Chile. But those against it say it will allow big corporations to charge more for things like medicine, and to sue governments over policies they don’t like. The pact will take effect when ratified by parliaments of least six signatory countries, who comprise a minimum of 85 percent of all members’ overall GDP. But it is the first time Portman, a former US trade representative under President George W. Bush, had ever expressed serious opposition to a trade agreement. 7 billion ($A2. 51 billion) a year by 2030.

Trade delegates pose for a photograph after signing the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement in Auckland, New Zealand, Thursday, Feb. 4, 2016.

Many people in New Zealand remain opposed to the deal, and hundreds protested outside the Auckland venue where it was being signed, blocking traffic on some streets, while others protested in the capital, Wellington.

“My message is this is an historic agreement and we set out several years ago to negotiate together an ambitious, comprehensive and high-standard agreement and we’ve done”, he said during the signing.

US lawmakers have long complained that China engages in currency manipulation to make its exports more financially competitive.

Though the deal was signed on Thursday-New Zealand is 18 hours ahead of Washington-the deal will still have to be ratified by the U.S. Congress.

Leave a Reply

[userpro template=view]